Simplicity is lost in modern MMORPGs

I have started a new MMORPG. It’s called ArcheAge and it’s beautiful. I won’t spend too much time on it other than to say it’s so intricate that after about 30 hours of game time, I still have no idea what’s going on. I’m not even sure how crafting really works and it’s one of the main aspects of the game.

Before I chose ArcheAge, I looked through multiple sites and forums to find what other people were playing. I was given a cool site where you can input what you like in a game and it will filter through all titles, leaving only those that fit your criteria. After watching several YouTube gameplay videos, I settled on ArcheAge.

What went into that criteria is why I wanted to post this. Reading through comment after comment, article after article, what I find consistent in most gamers opinions out there is this: the older MMO’s got it right. I’m not sure if this is nostalgia, like saying “EQOA was my first love.” But after several weeks of playing ArcheAge, what I miss most was the simplicity.

If you go back through the posts I have written over the years, I have brought this up before. The art, the quests, the items, the outside elements of EQOA were all simple. Same can be argued about vanilla WoW, Lineage II, and Diablo III. It’s so counter-intuitive to traditional marketing of games that it doesn’t even sit right as I write this. Developers strive for complexity and depth in their games but as the readers of this blog know, quality over quantity is the winning strategy.

About Stonee

EQOA blogger
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Simplicity is lost in modern MMORPGs

  1. John Hill says:

    I haven’t played archage, but I have played around with order and chaos and a couple of other tablet/mobile MMOS and they seem to be overly simplified. Usually there are 4 classes, tank, melee, caster and healer of some form, and 4 or 5 races that are purely cosmetic. I feel that EQOA was very rich and complicated comparatively. There were so many different build options and almost all of them were useful and fun to play. I played around with a ton of builds once free cm rehab came about. I made my Ranger a Forester and Mercenary before settling on Hunter. I must have made 15 different Hunter builds before settling on an almost pure damage build. These new MMOS really only have maybe 3 builds to choose from, pure one way or the other and split path. So you could make 12 characters and encompass every different build. The beauty of EQOA was the amount of character options available. You could make 3 accounts worth of characters and still have useful characters to build. These new games also allow way too much solo ability. In order and chaos I soloed to within 3 levels of max in a couple of weeks before i got bored. I literally never joined a group the whole time I played. I might as well have been playing offline. In EQOA, you had to know how to play your toon to solo effectively. I know that in order to keep a player base happy you have to give the casual player a way to level up regardless of server population. The group/guild dynamic in EQOA was awesome in my opinion. In order to level, you needed a group of some sort. Towards the end, the healer/tank group was kind of rare, but was still my favorite kind of group. My favorite group was tank, healer, melee, and caster. Lostpilgrim built a defensive SK, Lostangyl was a heal path cleric, I was the melee and Stigtofting’s mage was usually our caster. We ground out a ton of CMS and levels together, each playing our role. We had such chemistry that we started making characters in homage of each other. Stigtofting made a Ranger, I made a mage (I think we all made mage actually) and SK, because we saw how fun and effective our friends played their toons. We would help each other with the mechanics and builds of our new toons. Pil taught me how to tank, pull, and keep aggro above all else. This kind of interaction is the whole reason we play online instead of offline. That is what I miss most about EQOA, the interraction.

Leave a Reply

