TESO

I have been playing MMO’s since 2001, starting with Runescape. I’ve played several but only 3 have truly impressed me. Runescape, EQOA, and WoW were clean, easy to learn, and full of adventure. Runescape became too cluttered after about a year, we all know EQOA’s fate, and I gave up on WoW in 2008 before Wrath of the Lich King was released. The game was getting out of hand. I had 8k HP and yet the next edition allowed for 100k??

I have seen trailers for several games and few have peaked my interest. Most recently, Guild Wars 2. I really liked the concept of the game but it wasn’t visually appealing. I didn’t bother with it. To be fair, I had little interest in an MMO at that time.

Yet, that has changed. The Elder Scrolls Online (TESO) has come into my gaming sites. For the first time in a long, long time, I have signed up for a beta. Yes, I am actually interested in playing this MMO.

The gameplay looks very clean and the artwork reminds me of a blend of WoW and Guild Wars. It’s very visually appealing and it definitely looks like it’s going to be the next big thing in the MMO world. I believe this for 2 reasons: 1. The Elder Scrolls series had a ton of players that never got into MMO’s. They stuck with the RPG only aspect. They also have a respectable following. 2. There are few A class competitors being released in 2013. I’m saying this with the impression that EQ Next will probably get pushed back another year.

So little has been released about this game that it’s obviously hard to jump to conclusions from a single YouTube video… but just take a look, if you haven’t already.

However there is cause for concern. According to this blog, TESO’s production s being headed by a guy named Matt Firor. Apparently there are mixed emotions from the gaming community regarding Mr. Firor’s track record. I never played it, but he was a leader in the Dark Age of Camelot series.

But I’ll go with my gut here and it’s telling me that TESO is going to be worth my time and money. I look forward to its release. If you or someone you know gets chosen for Beta, please have them reach out to me with any comments or media.

About Stonee

EQOA blogger
This entry was posted in EQOA, Everquest, Video Games. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to TESO

  1. animaa says:

    yeah ill be keeping an eye on this one

  2. Andrew says:

    Forming a guild for beta and launch. Would like to extend and invitation to the entire EQOA community to come and register on the website if you would to play with a friendly, casual, family-like community. Also, when signing up for beta, having a guild with a website increases your chances. I just got the site up and running yesterday, and as of right now, not very many are registered, but they will be registering shortly.

  3. I’m still waiting to see if i was accepted or not. I am also looking forward to this title. I worry about EQnext being able to compete to be honest. I fully expect EQnext to be pushed back now. SOE would be insane to release the game any time around TESO. With a very strong fanbase i really think TESO will be the next WoW. I know we hear that a lot but dudes…. this is a very very big deal and unless the devs COMPLETELY mess this up, it should be the best mmo since EQOA imo. When you take all the continents and provinces from TES games and put them into one MASSIVE online gaming world…

Leave a Reply

