Congrats, douche bag hackers.

EQOA’s main site is now shut down and a bunch of people are watching their credit card accounts.. (or should be). I’m still not sure if EQOA’s network was a part of this but I have had my credit card info stolen before… and obviously it sucks.

The method used against me was a virus was loaded onto my computer through an illegal TV watching site. My fault. It had a keylogger that activated when I went to secure websites. They logged my credit card number after I purchased college books off of Amazon. Then they made a duplicate card and went to a gas station in Miami to continually withdraw cash until my bank realized that something wasn’t right.

After all the returns by the bank, I only lost $200 and probably took a shot on my credit score. Fantastic…

I’m not sure who I’m more pissed at, SOE for not acting or the hackers for being douche bags.

Oh, here’s a video of a CT raid:

About Stonee

EQOA blogger
This entry was posted in EQOA, Everquest, Video Games and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Congrats, douche bag hackers.

  1. Theron says:

    Hey Stoney, glad to see the blog is still going strong.

    It sucks about what’s going on with Sony. I hope they’ll be able to protect everyone’s information, especially credit cards.

    I hope I’m able to return to EQOA to finish my rogue and other ALTs.

    Take care!

  2. Ayrica says:

    I got an email from Sony saying that my information from 2007 had been stolen. At at least my old credit card has already expired and I have since moved.

    I knew SOE was a lazy company but to let people steal others information is unforgivable. It is simply a matter of protecting and implementing security of cross your network. SOE lost my faith years ago, but this just proves that they are a terrible company. You never see Blizzard have these kinds of problems. Don’t blame the hackers, blame SOE.

    Interesting to note: My account was banned in September 2007, when I rose up against EQOA/SOE in protest of lack of content and broken quests/updates. How ironic that their lax control should lead them to lose face. They should make all games play-for-free, but I have doubts whether people will want to be on their networks anymore. PS3 owners: I pity you.

  3. BoomstickSaint says:

    Hopefully, they give all accounts an free month. Then I can activate my second account and DB for a month.

  4. Jypcie says:

    I dont know about “all” accounts or just the ones that are active but sony did say they were giving a month free plus an additional day for each day the servers were down. It was confirmed by naylei(sp?) on facebook monday or tuesday that this applied to eqoa customers too.

Leave a Reply

