The Rise of the Druid

If you left the game in between release and 2007 then you were well aware that at the bottom of the totem pole was none other than the druid. How things have changed…

First, the two path options are a damage DoT or a healing tick that at one time was a group heal, but might just be a stack heal now. Druids are healers… so shouldn’t I know what the heal path is? Maybe… if anyone made heal path druids anymore.

Second, the epicsodes were introduced and new epic abilities came with those. The druids who went full DoT path could now get a DoT tick that also had the ability to slow a mob. In other words, a druid can now solo almost any mob in the game because they can keep casting the DoT while the mob basically runs in place.

Third, Khal mobs were introduced and specifically I’m referring to KV. KV is the goldmine mob. He drops specific abilities that do incredible amounts of damage and he also drops a gem. Some of these gems can sell for up to 50 million tunar.

Why is KV significant to the rise of the druids? Simply put, all you need is a bard, and a few druids and KV can be solod in about 10-15 minutes. No more pacting necros, no more warriors, no more wizards. Just a bunch of freakin’ druids to take down the hottest mob in the game.

Their importance against KV is only multiplied when you consider they already had the most powerful AC buff and their random ports.

Currently, druids have joined alc’s and wizards as the most popular classes made. Very few of the druids being made go with the heal path. I recently made one that’s currently up to level 49 and it’s been a ton of fun.

So if you’re a returning player and you’re mixed on what to make, try a DoT druid out and you will be very surprised at the changes.

About Stonee

EQOA blogger
This entry was posted in EQOA, Everquest, Video Games and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Rise of the Druid

  1. Jypcie says:

    The original epic DoT schnieders burning hatred was not like the epic snare. When i did my epic on my ppo druid back in 2007 snare was the consolation prize if you broke your path. When I came back a month ago I could not understand why druids were breaking their paths.(I’ve since watched druids snare kv and even watched a guildee practically solo a khal warlord-mana is still a druid issue lol).

  2. Jypcie says:

    The original epic DoT schnieders burning hatred was not like the epic snare. When i did my epic on my ppo druid back in 2007 snare was the consolation prize if you broke your path. When I came back a month ago I could not understand why druids were breaking their paths.(I’ve since watched druids snare kv and even watched a guildee practically solo a khal warlord-mana is still a druid issue lol). I have met a few heal path druids, one did a path rehab to go snare.

  3. Zehi says:

    You know, I actually played a Druid as one of my first characters (real first was a Rogue but the Druid ended up at 50/60 first). I remember being antagonized for playing 15th best. Then I leveled up a second Druid to spite them…

    I think I left shortly after 60 epics were released. I took the damage shield on one Druid who was broken path and whatever the heal path one was on the other.

    It’s actually very tempting to come back to the game…

Leave a Reply

